Our generous donors have provided the important resources that have helped to make UNC become the highly regarded academic medical institution it is today. UNC Medicine recognizes the many generous donors to the UNC School of Medicine and UNC Hospitals whose gifts support students, faculty and the citizens we serve across the state and the globe. Giving to medicine demonstrates leadership and a special commitment to caring, discovery, teaching, and hope. To honor and express our appreciation of our donors, the following recognition societies have been established:

The W. Reece Berryhill Society
The W. Reece Berryhill Society, established in 2002, recognizes generous individuals who have made gifts through bequests, charitable remainder trusts, gift annuities, charitable lead trusts, life insurance policies and other documented planned gift arrangements to support the UNC School of Medicine or UNC Hospitals.

Meaningful planned gifts provide valued resources to improve care and the quality of life for future patients. Our top-ranked medical and healthcare education strengthens with scholarships and fellowships. Distinguished professorships support exceptional faculty who are pioneers and leaders in their fields. Investments in research fuel discovery from initiating new clinical trials, inventing or adapting technologies, to developing prevention strategies, and translating promising new knowledge to benefit our patients.

Celebrating a Legacy of Innovation in Medicine
W. Reece Berryhill, MD, dean of the UNC School of Medicine from 1941-1964 is known as “the father of modern medicine at UNC.” Dr. Berryhill provided extraordinary vision and influential leadership that transformed the School of Medicine into a leading four-year institution, developed an outstanding academic medical center and improved medical care across North Carolina through the establishment of the North Carolina Area Health Education Centers (AHEC) program.

Recognizing Your Visionary Support
Members are invited to engage with the UNC Medicine community through special events, educational opportunities and communications, and are offered membership in the Charles Gerrard Legacy Society – the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s planned gift recognition society. The Gerrard Society.

The Foust Leadership Society (INSERT LOGO)
The Foust Leadership Society recognizes generous donors to the Loyalty Fund, Class Funds, Loyalty Fund Scholarships, and priority medical education funds. Loyalty Fund giving and medical education support sustains a vital tradition of today’s Tar Heel Doctors investing in tomorrow’s physician leaders through student enrichment, faculty excellence, and alumni engagement.

The name John Foust signifies loyalty and leadership. Among the first to receive a four-year degree from the UNC School of Medicine, Dr. Foust created a legacy of peer engagement and loyal alumni giving to enrich medical education. He fostered a culture of service and generosity, and founded the National Loyalty Fund Committee. The Committee honored John W. Foust, MD ’55, with the creation of The Foust Leadership Society at UNC School of Medicine.

Recognition is based on total giving to medical education July 1 through June 30.

All Foust Society members are honored at the annual Loyalty Banquet during Fall Medical Alumni Weekend, may be listed in School of Medicine honor rolls, and receive updates of their gift’s impact.

To learn more and join the Foust Leadership Society, please contact:
Kirsten Beattie
Director of Annual Giving, Loyalty Fund

Lineberger Leadership Partners is a special group of committed supporters recognized for their generous annual contributions of $1,000 or more annually (July 1 – June 30). Each year, Lineberger Leadership Partners are invited to Lineberger Club, an exclusive breakfast where attendees hear from researchers, physicians, and patients to get an inside look at how their gifts impact UNC Lineberger.
Lineberger Leadership Partners invest in people to find cures, translate research into results for patients, venture to seek scientific solutions, and help unite across populations to beat cancer.

Partner with us to provide today’s care and tomorrow’s best hope.

To learn more and become a Lineberger Leadership Partner, please contact:
Cate Meno
Director of Annual Giving, Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center

The Curnen Leadership Society recognizes the commitment and generosity of annual donors to UNC Children’s. Donors who give $1,000 or more annually (July 1–June 30) to any area of UNC Children’s Hospital or the Department of Pediatrics are invited to join the society.

The Curnen Leadership Society is named in honor of the UNC School of Medicine’s first chairman of pediatrics and leader in Children’s health, Dr. Edward Curnen. Dr. Curnen served as chair for eight years, from 1952 to 1960, when N.C. Children’s Hospital was a part of the Memorial Hospital.

We are pleased to recognize members of the Curnen Leadership Society in donor honor rolls and the annual report, as well as through invitations to events and tours. For select membership levels, benefits include a biannual “Insiders” letter and private dinner with UNC Children’s chief physician.

To learn more and join the Curnen Leadership Society, please contact:
Kathryn Hunter
Assistant Director of Development, UNC Children’s